Rocketsauce

ROCKETSAUCE. I had once heard Jack Black refer to my favourite band with this word, and it was the first that came to mind when I thought of  the past week here in NYC.

After a mere two days of classes, I feel as though I have been injected with a high-octane dose of rocket sauce; which has left me feeling invigorated and with a renewed sense of determination to leave a footprint on this earth.  Alejandro and Brian certainly brought that out in me starting with their first question to the class: What would you like to be thanked for in 20 years?

Many may be surprised at what my answer was because I had been so dead set on working for a German automotive multinational. Thing is, over the last year I have had a lot of time to myself to reflect on exactly what form I want my life to take shape, where my home is ,an what mark I would like on the world.  By giving myself  time to reflect upon, and answer these questions, I realized that my place is nowhere near Germany, and especially nowhere near a multinational. Don’t misunderstand, I still love cars as much as the first day of school, but I just don’t feel that this is exactly where I best fit. nonetheless, that M5 will still be mine one day.  Ale and Brian spoke of VC being the old boys club, and the old model, and it struck a chord: I can’t work for a company where I am pressured to grow a certain way. Call me a control freak; I’ll accept. I realized that I come from a long line of entrepreneurs, of control freaks who made big bets and won because of sheer determination. Not sure why I was fighting the obvious for so long. It seems though that the yearning to do something of my own pushed through to the forefront of my consciousness and I had to entertain the thought. In time, this thought turned into a very vivid picture of what I want to get out of life and what I want to give back.

I was scared however, this idea is quite a new thing, something that doesn’t fit into the typical ‘business plan’ model. Alejandro and Brian’s workshop calmed me and gave me a sense of reassurance that this is where business is heading in the future. *Insert sigh of relief here*

I’ve also made a point of really following their advice to engage. In every way possible. This ties in well with Kieth’s presentation about positioning oneself and numerous conversations surrounding fashion that I’ve had with New Yorkers and classmates . I decided that there was just no way that I could walk around in a perfectly pressed suit. It’s not what I am and it’s not how I want to present myself to the world.  Yesterday I wore a Beatles T-shirt under my blazer and you would not believe the business people, the artists and musicians that shirt engaged. The shirt invited at least 8 strangers to come up to me and start ‘talking shop’ and the connections I made for my future business in one short day are too many to write of here.

That being said, classmates: I encourage you to do the same. Whether it be in a large financial firm, or a small business in your home country, if it is what you REALLy want to do, live it. Live it in every way possible- in how you dress, who you interact with, where you go. If you do this, you’ll be surprised at the doors that are opened to you ( doors which you may not have known to exist in the first place). Then again, that’s New York for you.

 

-Moni

Leave a Reply

