Leadership and Enterprise in NYC –Week 1

Leadership and Enterprise in NYC –Week 1

May 18th

I was very excited when arrived to NYC since I have beautiful memories from the City and arrived with the feeling that I would like to experience again my most exciting adventures. After we settled in the dormitory and discovered Brooklyn Heights, which part of NYC was familiar to me only from the Annie Hall movie I found myself at one of the most romantic spot of the City. The famous promenade, which looking out on the East River, is just some footsteps from our dormitory. I was fascinated there by the vista of the Statue of Liberty, the Manhattan skyline and the majestic Brooklyn Bridge. Lined with flower beds, trees, benches and playgrounds, the promenade became my favorite destination for jogging.

20th of May

On the first school day in the morning Ale and Brian from Acceleration Group gave us a lecture about New York’s ecosystem and explained how we can engage the ecosystem’s elements to grow business and launch innovation.

In the afternoon we visited the NYU Center for Urban Science and Progress. We have the chance to understand how urban planners can make cities- in this case NYC- more efficient; improve the urban systems and quality of life.

21st of May

I was not present at school this day, since this day was special in my family’s life. I visited my son in Connecticut, Watertown since he was awarded as the best Captain and best Tennis Player of the Taft School. I had the chance to watch his team’s, the Rhinos’ last tennis competition as well. They played against the strongest team, in the league the Hopkins School’s team. I have seen several very exciting matches. My son played a wonderful match on the first court as the number one player of the team.

22nd of May

In the morning Aaron Foster gave us a presentation about Pfizer operation in emerging markets. He explained us how data driven business analysis can support the business decision making at Pfizer.

In the afternoon we visitedFriedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP. The two presenters spoke about FCPA through several practical and useful examples. Their hospitality and the view from their conference room was very impressive.

Leave a Reply

